Yo Columbia – I hope that you like that I put down Rei Kawabuko

Today I had my writing test for my Journalism MS application to Columbia for Fall 2010 entry. I probably have failed miserably, because it’s one of those tests that have no right or wrong answer. But I fail hardcore at logical shit. So even though it’s open ended – I just jumped way out of the acceptable box and just pwned my chances probs.

I applied for the Digital Media concentration, because that’s the future baby. And also I’ve been working with Digital Media for a while and I like it. Although I do have a soft spot in my heart for print, always. There’s just something about the sheen of a fresh new magazine, or the smell of a newspaper that leaves your hands all inky.

One of the questions that they asked was to name who the ten most influential people of the 20th century. How ambigious. 10 most important to me, or who they want us to put down. Such a conundrum. For some reason I put down Disraeli, which just proves how much attention I paid in History.

One of the people I did list was Rei Kawabuko, Comme Des Garcons designer and founder. She is definitely one of the most influential people in fashion, and has definitely shaped the way fashion has changed over the past two decades. I was thinking to put down Coco Chanel as well, which I should have, but I tried to give a wide variety of different people. Or perhaps I should have put down Coco Chanel. It’s more expected.

Crapulous.

But I was true to my beliefs right? To me Rei Kawabuko makes my jaw drop, every single time. I should have put down Azzedine Alaia as well *duh* – I wrote about Alaia for a leadership application back in ’08 and I got chosen to be 1 of 35 out of the whole country. Not bad eh? Although that Beatles x Comme Des Garcons collab sucked balls.

Also I think I put down Obama for top 10 most influential people which is just dumb. Did I even go to university?

Here’s a pretty picture of Comme Des Garcons Homme Plus Spring 2010 accessories to distract you from my stupidity.

via: slamxhype

Leave a comment

Filed under Designers, Fashion, Inspirations, What's Poppin', Work

Leave a Reply

